Missed out on the month? Here’s what happened!

This won’t make up for not posting much … but I will say that I’ve been utterly exhausted this entire month and you’ll just have to forgive me!

Snake surveys have gone well, they are finally done. The snakes are giving birth so it’s time to call off the late 10-12 hour days. FINALLY! Snake wrangling is a good time, but not having any time in the evenings to … you know, have a personal life (not that I have one much anyways here in Slinger) really wears on you after a while. πŸ˜€

A note to consumers: If you’ve ever been to Cabela’s and have seen those Bug Skinz and thought about trying them … look at the picture to the right. After the flood, the mosquitos sorta got out of control. According to a reliable source the DNR normally catches a 100 or some super low number in their mosquito traps during a particular timing period. Recently? 4000+. Huiras Lake, as the name might suggest, is on a lake. Lots of wetland nearby too. Luckily I’ve gained back some of the weight that I lost this spring due to not riding my bike so the mosquitos weren’t able to lift me from the ground to carry me to some kind of feeding table in the woods. It doesn’t mean that the bug skinz prevented me from being a walking buffet. That isn’t a rash on my arm … if it’s any indication on how well the material works.

Lately, I’ve been pissing deet. At least I’ve gotten used to the smell.

With the Land Trust a lot has been happening, I’ve been doing a little bit of everything it would seem. I was going to do some posts on other invasives but I’ll just list them off quickly: Canadian Thistle, Sweet Clover White & Yellow, and Burdock. Lots of cutting, lots of mowing, lots of aggression taken out with sickles. I’ve also had the opportunity to fix a barn, install a Green Roof at the Mequon Nature Preserve, and am planning a larger work party at Kurtz Woods with the help of We Energies.

I’ve spent 3 days at the track this month as well. A two day stint at Road America was utterly fantastic, I’ll talk your ear off if you give me the chance to tell you stories so just ask! I had another trackday yesterday … so as soon as I get pictures expect a whole post. It’s kind of a big deal.

33 more days left with AmeriCorps. It’s going to be a busy Month! I’m going to be biking again now that the Snake Surveys are done with, and come Sept I expect to be back on the podium as well. Random musings to come later … go watch that video I posted the other day, it’s still so awesome.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Geo

I pedal a lot and spend time on two wheels. Greenie at heart. I have one chance at this whole life thing - so I better make the most of it.

Leave a Reply

