Ringing in the New Year.

Like just about every blog writer out there, I too feel the need to throw out an entirely superfluous look back at the year with my own insights and comments. I guess it gives a little bit of perspective on the coming year, or maybe I just really had the urge to get all “Lifey” on ya’ll. 😉

First off : I failed with my 2008 New Years Resolution. Maybe a single goal was just too east to forget. I still cannot do a proper handstand.

So what went right this year?

– Finally got a job. 2 in fact. Working with AmeriCorps and Trek have been fantastic, and I hope to keep doing what I love for a long time to come.

– I never dominated a MTB race this year, but I put in the time and effort to return to the podium and prove to myself that I can compete again. It might have only been the Sport class, but regardless it meant a lot here. Still chasing that elusive victory though – 8 seconds was the closest I’ve been so far. That’ll change in ’09.

– I got over a rather major case of a completely severed heart. While there has been a slight relapse every now and then, but it’s entirely from still being single and perhaps chasing after the wrong things. The Summer and Fall after graduation were tough, this year has been a lot better. I can say that I’m back to being myself again … which for a while I wondered if it would truly happen.

– I’ve turned into a major bike commuter. Been doing it all summer, and fall and so far … winter. Will definitely be keeping this going for sure.

– I started off the year in the Novice group on the track, I quickly moved up through the ranks with the help of some fantastic teachers and friends. My goal was to ride in the Advance class come the end of the year MAYBE, but make it there next year. By the middle of the summer, I got bumped up and improved my skill dramatically. Riding in the Advance class was fantastic, and minus a massive crash it was a banner year for me.

– Some friendships dwindled, others were made, others were strengthened. Such is life it seems.

So a lot has happened, this not even scratching the surface of the last 365 days. What am I doing to do for the coming year?

Ride at least 4,000 miles. With my commuting miles + training, I think I can do this. It’ll be the most I’ve ridden in a year before, and I think this is definitely within my grasp.

No crashes on the motorcycle. Obvious.

Finish top 5 in age group in a Comp class race of WORS.. This will take a lot of training and effort, but I know I can do it.

I don’t believe in silly resolutions that you are just going to give up in a month anyways. I’m still drinking coffee, loving beer, and acting at least 10 years younger than I really am.

One thing that I WILL do this year though … work on that handstand. I’ll have photographic proof, promise.

Happy New Year everyone! May 2009 be even better than 2008!

Tags: ,

About Geo

I pedal a lot and spend time on two wheels. Greenie at heart. I have one chance at this whole life thing - so I better make the most of it.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Riding through January! « Discovering Something New Every Day - February 4, 2009

Leave a Reply

