Spring Break at the NOC: #1

Not to entirely steal the ideas of one of my buddies, there’s just so much information to be put down about the last week I had that I haven’t yet been able to do this week on account that we’re prepping for our big sale, and getting tons of new stuff this weekend at the store.  It’s been so busy that it looks like it’s going to be a 60 hour week with my first week being back.  Whew.

Onto the really important stuff … a vacation with the UW Cycling Club at the Nantahala Outdoor Center.

Day 1 On the drive down I experienced a big of an overload of energy drinks. Apparently over consumption of such things to keep you awake while driving through the mountains is a BAD IDEA. My resting heartrate was near 120, and it was flying at 180 while talking to people on my ride … that I did … with no sleep … and it was raining. Lesson learned.

Another lesson learned: beer straight after a ride with good friends always makes everything better.

First Ride: Check.

30 miles + a 2 mile climb + no sleep + hyped up on guarana & caffeine + cold and rain = a strange euphoria that I don’t wish to repeat anytime soon.

Day 2
Overcoming the previous day’s efforts, required me to stay in during another rainy day and sleep till the early afternoon. Felt amazing after that … officially ready to ride.

Day 3
To be continued!

Tags: , , , ,

About Geo

I pedal a lot and spend time on two wheels. Greenie at heart. I have one chance at this whole life thing - so I better make the most of it.

Leave a Reply

