Lake. City. Bike.

For a commuter bike at its pricepoint my Valencia could not be beat. I came to an epiphany though a week or two ago while cleaning the bike and deciding that I wanted to paint it white.

“Wait a second, with everything I’m doing to this bike … I’m just turning it into this other bike. Why don’t I just buy that one?”

So I did.

The Valencia now belongs to a good buddy and will be well taken care of. I, though, now have a new toy to get me around the city. Say ‘Hello’ to my Gary Fisher Mendota!

Guess what? I’m almost going to leave it … stock. Now, there are some things that need to be changed to make it properly comfortable and because I have a lot of parts lying around.

Mendota love.

First off … stock grips? I needed to class those up. Moved my Portland Design Works – Dapper Dan Ergo grips to the front end, threw on a carbon stem and handlebars from Bontrager. Add on a more comfortable saddles, some Ree-lights, fenders, Shimano A-530 pedals and … I now have a lighter, stiffer, and gorgeously colored white commuter bike. The bike itself retails for roughly $500 more than the Valencia, so the improvements are definitely noticed in the components and frame.

Nice arse.

I’m currently awaiting a disc-brake kit for my rear rack, and possibly a Brooks Saddle.

I rolled over my 2000 mile mark for the year on this bike, so we’re already off to a fantastic start! There’s also something super cool about having a bike named after a local lake that pretty much identifies Madison.

Love your bikes, and they will love you back! 😀

Tags: , , , ,

About Geo

I pedal a lot and spend time on two wheels. Greenie at heart. I have one chance at this whole life thing - so I better make the most of it.

4 responses to “Lake. City. Bike.”

  1. Anthony says :

    WOW.

    This is a beautiful bike. I own a white Gary Fisher Wingra, which looks very similar to this, but the components on your bike is gorgeous!

    I know it’s been three years since you posted this, but how’s she doing?

    By the way, I ran into your WordPress while Googling my bike, in case you were wondering who the hell I was.

    • Geo says :

      Anthony – Thanks for the kinds words! The Mendota was my most beloved bike, and probably can’y ever be replaced! More miles on that than any other bike I owned probably!

      Right now, since I moved to Japan, it’s in the hands of a good friend of mine who I sold it too. I’ll be getting a status update soon I imagine. Should be still seen riding around the streets of Madison though! 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. August Mileage Report!!! « Discovering Something New Every Day - September 1, 2009
  2. Back in the saddle! « Ride. - January 11, 2010

Leave a Reply

