Preflight checks.

Ride gear!While riding today I ran into a small issue – I lowered the pressure in my tires a tad much to hit some off-road trails after taking a nice spin on the Capital City Loop around Madison. I did NOT fall into the trap of leaving my flat kit home, but I did run into a slight issue with my equipment.

Not pictured is my single CO2 inflator head which I discovered was broken during my ride – everything else though tends to be with me on every ride – for myself, or to help aid others. The patch kit & tire levers I reserve for my commuter bikes, but the minimum I like carry with me is a tube, inflation tools, and a multi-tool.

A small piece of advice though: even if you have it with you, make sure it works and you know how to use it! Luckily I was only a mile from home, riding back on a completely deflated tire wasn’t one of the most fun things I’ve ever done. I would’ve discovered my inflation head was broken had I just tested it before throwing it into my flat kit. All the gear in the world can’t help you if it isn’t functioning properly.

When was the last time you checked through everything to make sure it was working properly – ya know, just in case you ever have to use it?

There. Now with your safety system ready to go, it’s time to kick the tires and light the fires. 😀

Tags: ,

About Geo

I pedal a lot and spend time on two wheels. Greenie at heart. I have one chance at this whole life thing - so I better make the most of it.

Leave a Reply

