Secret rain training!

It’s Fall in Wisconsin – and while we might not have it as bad as some others, it’s now somewhat wet and rainy. Add into that a pinch of unseasonably cool weather, and you have a lot of people who are heading to their basements and turning in their helmets for the rest of the year.

Not this guy, though.  Neither should you. This other guy has a good article on dressing for the weather. I suggest following his advice. Layers work well, and remember that the best rain gear will NOT keep you dry. It will keep you damp and warm. If it keeps you completely dry, expect to be drowning in your own sweat. Fun fact, eh?

The photo to the right is from a recent ride during an off-path excursion in which I decided to cross a draining stream. Pinch flats ahoy!

I had on a grin on my face every second of changing this flat as the rain came down overhead.  Why?

Adventures are fun. I like adventures. They also keep me riding outdoors instead of being inside mindlessly spinning away. There will be a time for that, but that time surely isn’t now! Unless you’re a witch.

Then I’d look out.

Tags: , , ,

About Geo

I pedal a lot and spend time on two wheels. Greenie at heart. I have one chance at this whole life thing - so I better make the most of it.

Leave a Reply

