29 and Single.

No, not me. (I’m 27, and have an absolutely amazing girl to spend my time with).

I’m talking about my new (old) ride.

My Gary Fisher Ferrous 29er has a new look for the upcoming riding/racing season. The past two years I’ve run it as a 1×9 with fantastic success. This year, though, it was time to try something new.

Ferrous SS 29er!

I’m not 100% sure why it struck me that it would be a good idea to do this, but I went ahead anyway. I’ve always been a fan of stand and sprint – I am NOT a spinner unless I force myself – so I’m hoping that this caters to my riding style; I’ll be finding out very quickly if it doesn’t.

The bike is built up as follows:

’08 Ferrous – OX True Temper Platinum USA welded frame
29er Bontrager Rhythm Wheels w/Surley spacer kit & cog
29-3 Tubeless Bontrager Tires
RockShox Reba 29er Fork
Avid Elixir CR Brakes 185f/160r
Cane Creek 110 Headset
Bontrager Rhythm Stem & Seatpost
Ragley Carnagie’s Handlebar
Bontrager RXL MTB Saddle
ESI Chunky Grips
XT Crank w/Spot Bash Guard
Crank Bros Candy SL Pedals
… Oh, and a Y.A.W.Y.D stem cap. Need to show the Store Team sponsor some love.

The bike comes in at 26.1lbs – doesn’t feel like it on the trails at all. As of right now I’m running a 34×18 gear ratio. It’s a little tall, as my first shakedown ride let me know, but I have a feeling that this could work out real well for general riding. I’ll be grabbing a 20 & a 22 to keep around depending on the event.

This will be my main ride this year. My other plans to pick up a full suspension geared bike won’t happen till late summer at the earliest. In the meantime, it’s time to learn how to ride a Singlespeed! 😀

About Geo

I pedal a lot and spend time on two wheels. Greenie at heart. I have one chance at this whole life thing - so I better make the most of it.

One response to “29 and Single.”

  1. ACV says :

    Dude, you bike looks like a lot like mine – down to the color. Except I’m rigid.

Leave a Reply

