Ride Report – Levis Mound!

Yep – I said RIDE report, not RACE report!


Body wasn’t up to the task of racing Levis Trow 50 this year. So I missed the race weekend but the day was spent recuperating and was a day well spent. Little did I know that the next weekend I would have the opportunity to head up there with a great group of guys, and get to know the trails that I’ve been away from for a couple years!

An early morning journey out of Waunakee with John, and Mark from Fat Tire Guides got us up there and riding a little before 11am, where we met up with Gary from FTG and a group of others who call Nine Mile Forest, Levis Trow & Standing Rocks their “Home Trails.” Not a bad place to be.

Big group of us, a few mechanicals, and lots of climbing.  Felt great on the SS, smiling the entire time even though my legs were getting reaaaaaaal tired! Rode 99% of all the trails we were on – ran about 50ft of trail total. Was stoked about that – considering I was doing 1RPM for a lot of the trail! (or so it seemed!)

1000000124

The trails are absolutely fantastic.  Riding along the bluffs, surfing the ridges and cascading over the bridges over the cliff edges aren’t for the faint of heart.  I loved every second of it!

1000000128

The scenery was quite amazing as well.  I love the topography as you go farther and father North.  Nothing but trees as far as the eye can see.

1000000126

The trails are way too cool to only visit once a year.   I’d like to return with a properly geared bike to keep things easy, and spend more than 3 hours riding next time.  We had an absolute blast and I got to go riding with a great group of guys.

Loving the trails at Levis Mound!!!

Awesome day of riding. Will be back soon!

About Geo

I pedal a lot and spend time on two wheels. Greenie at heart. I have one chance at this whole life thing - so I better make the most of it.

Leave a Reply

