Rollin’ through the winter.

Today marked my first real adventure on my new 9:zero:7 Snowbike. It was great to get out by myself, do some thinking, and mentally recover from a fantastic Festivus weekend in Baltimore with my buds.

Snow Panda

Temperatures were hovering around the 7º mark when I set off. Hit up a nice 13 mile ride that took me on the frozen paths, through some of the local multi-use singletrack trails, and ventured out to Highway P of the Badger State Trail (formerally of the H8tr fame.) Turned around, and got in over an hour-and-a-half of single-digit riding time in. Longest Winter ride mark has been hit.

Big Tracks

I’ll need to alter my layering a little bit. My lower body was great as were my hands, feet, and head. I did notice FROST forming inside of my jacket though. I’m going to play around with windproof baselayers, and less windproofing on the jacket itself to see what happens. The one thing I notice from riders who do the Triple D and Arrowhead 135 is I see a lot different clothing than I normally would associate with biking. If my time spend on flat-pedals and my AWESOME Sorel boots gave me indication, it might be time to rethink my winter riding gear for longer rides & endurance.

Yay white!

I’ll save my next post as a complete breakdown on what I’m running on this awesome machine.

Big Wheel keep on turnin'

I took a bit of a chance with this project. Never riding the bike before, not knowing 100% if this would be the right decision to go through with doing. Picking up an assimilation of parts and making this happen. First couple rides were good. Today’s ride, however, solidified in my head that I should’ve done this a long time ago.

This is why.

Winter fun … we’re on our way!

The path ahead.

About Geo

I pedal a lot and spend time on two wheels. Greenie at heart. I have one chance at this whole life thing - so I better make the most of it.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Rollin Through the Winter « The 365 Cyclist - November 29, 2011

Leave a Reply

