The art of parking.

A quickie as I’m editing and uploading photos from our recent trip to Okinawa & Ishigaki Islands:

Have you ever paid much attention into how traffic and especially parking plays into a city’s design?  How about solving the problem of needing places to put cars (I use “need” liberally here) but having no room at all to do it?

What if you took the preconceived idea and logic about how much room a traditional parking spot takes and picked it up, turned it upside down, rattled it around until the change fell out of its pockets, and stole its lunch money? (Sometimes bullying logic is the only way to make it realize that you are in fact in charge, and whatever it has to say about what will and what won’t work just doesn’t matter.) What you get is something so cool that you just can’t look away from until you fully realize what’s happening.

Much to the calls of being the “ultimate tourist” by my lovely wife, I saw a sight that you just don’t SEE back home.  It answers the question: “How do you park cars in a city where the density of stuff is thicker than a fruit cake?”  I had to pull out my phone, and stand there with a sort of half googly-eyed smirk as I watched in mechanical wonderment at the following scene.

What you a witnessing is exactly what you think it is. Cars drive into a parking stall, the driver exits, and like the DVDs on your spinning rack, the cars get shuffled up and around  to create who knows how many stories of parking in about 20 feet of city block.

Even better – upon exit, you get into your vehicle, and during your reverse out the SPINNING FLOOR PUTS YOU FACING TRAFFIC THUS MAKING FOR AN EASY EXIT.

I’m sorry people, but my (sometimes simple and easily amused) mind is blown. I just wish to share this with all of you.

About Geo

I pedal a lot and spend time on two wheels. Greenie at heart. I have one chance at this whole life thing - so I better make the most of it.

One response to “The art of parking.”

  1. Greg Berdan (Surly Soldan) says :

    Hey John, Thanks for the fun updates. Just wanted to let you know I was reading them. You’re plugged in to my Google Reader.

    I saw some similar parking when I was there years ago. (Decades?) Not as slick as this, but most likely a predecessor. I get so mad at planners here who can’t even add a level over an existing lot or paint a diagonal line to maximize what they currently have. All we seem to end up with is an unending line of people driving laps looking for the closest spot to the door.

    Your comment about the Shoji doors in your other post was the same reaction I had. Love those, wish I had them here. Maybe if I build a house….

Leave a Reply

